Press Room

Welcome to the Hankook press room, where you can access the latest news on Hankook and our industry.

Date 10/23/2013 Hits76,377

Category Motorsports

BMW Team Schnitzer wins the Hankook Best Pit Stop Award 2013 ahead of time

Hockenheim/Germany, 20. October 2013 - Over the last nine DTM races, the BMW Team Schnitzer has been able to claim the daily standing for the fastest tyre change no few than five times. Moreover, the speedy crew headed by team chief Charly Lamm scored points every single time - a major contribution to their success bearing in mind the levels of performance operating here - eventually gaining a lead that was unassailable. This is the first time that a BMW team has won the Best Pit Stop Award, presented by Hankook to the best team of the season; on both previous occasions, it was won by Audi teams - Phoenix Racing in 2011 and Abt Sportsline in 2012.

Until three weeks ago, the team Thomas Sabo Mercedes AMG was still eyeing its chances from its second position in the race for the unofficial DTM pit stop championship. But its first nil score of the season at the Dutch Zandvoort course put an end to its championship hopes. If it wins in Hockenheim, it still has a chance of coming in second though.

The same goes for the Crew Euronics Mercedes AMG, who managed the fastest change of all in the Netherlands. This first win of the season put the team at fourth place in the overall classification, but it too cannot hope for anything better than second place. The Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, who was also last year's winner, follows in the fifth and sixth positions.

The exclusive tyre partner Hankook is awarding the Best Pit Stop Award 2013 for the third time this year. Every year, it selects the pit crew with the fastest tyre changes, awarding it a prize of three crates of beer at the next DTM stop and 25 points. The placements are also evaluated in accordance with the DTM scoring rules, with the official timings list authorised by the DMSB being decisive. The big Crystal Trophy is a challenge cup and is awarded at the end of the season for the best overall time. Hankook also presents the winning team with an exclusive barbecue at the team's home base.

*Scoring is always per car/start number

Charly Lamm, BMW Team Schnitzer:“This award means a lot to BMW Team Schnitzer. Not only do the drivers battle for seconds on the racetrack but the same pressure also applies in the pit lane at the DTM. If you are then chosen as the year’s best pit stop team of all that is a great reward for lots of hard training. I would like to thank the entire team which did a truly great job in 2013. And also a big thank-you to Hankook on behalf of the whole team. It’s great that the work of the mechanics is also appreciated with the Best Pit Stop Award”

Christophe Stucki, Hankook DTM race engineer: “Congratulations to BMW Team Schnitzer, who won this season’s Best Pit Stop Award with such superiority. It shows the chemistry in the team is right. During a tyre change 14 mechanics are at work. Every move must be perfectly orchestrated and everyone has to rely on everyone else. But all the other crews did a fantastic job, too. The boys at the pits are under great pressure to perform at precisely the right time. And that’s what they all did last season.”


It is